Yet Another Try

Back in the summer of 1988 I went to a carnival at Fort Totten in Bayside, Queens, with my brothers and some friends. I had a secret crush on one of those friends. I’ll never forget what a beautiful night it was; it was warm, but not too hot. Maybe that’s because the carnival was near the water. It was a clear night, which seems to make all of the evening lights even brighter.

We wound up riding the ferris wheel together, me and my crush, and George Michael’s “One More Try” blasted from the speakers across the fairgrounds. I loved this song, even though you’d never know it by looking at me (I was also big into the heavy metal that the young kids were all screaming about). I was really into the guy I was sitting next to. I thought it was a magical moment.
We entered that ride as friends, and then left the ride…still friends. (I was kinda shy back then).

In a very Proust-ian way, hearing Iron and Wine cover this same song (quite beautifully, I might add) just brought all of those memories rushing back. You have to love the power of music.

1 Comment

Filed under Audiodidact, Grooveline, Uncategorized

One response to “Yet Another Try

  1. Ernio

    Wow, I was JUST looking at all those AV Club songs (I enjoyed the Toto and Human League covers). Singing backup on this is the chick from Swell Season/”Once.”
    Very cute story.

Leave a Reply

